Scammers are sending worrisome email notifications to everyday people warning that their Cloud storage is nearly full. The notifications explain that if the email recipient does not respond promptly, he or she risks losing their data. This message can be quite alarming for those who have years worth of priceless family photos, documents and other data stored in the Cloud. Do not fall for these phishing emails.
The scammers want innocent victims to click on the email links then pay for additional Cloud storage. However, the victims are not purchasing storage but instead are getting their credit card or debit card numbers stolen by cybercriminals. In other cases, cybercriminals trick victims into sharing their credentials and sensitive data. The scammer accomplishes this by pretending to be a technical support professional who offers to copy the victim’s files to a new Cloud location. Do not share your login credentials for your Cloud account.
There are many variations of this email scam, but typically the emails include the following elements:
- a warning that your Cloud storage is nearly full and that you may lose data
- a date by which you must purchase more storage to retain your data
- option plans with various amounts of storage (in GBs) that you may purchase
- links for visiting a website where you purchase storage
Do not click on any links in these emails, simply delete the emails. Use the Report Phishing feature in your email program to report these fake notifications to your email provider.
Actual Phishing Email for Cloud Storage Scam
